Mobirise easy website builder

the Four C’s

You may have already heard about the Four C’s. This is what each diamond is graded on.

I use the GIA 4Cs of Diamond Quality - this basic knowledge will not only unlock the mystery of a diamond's quality, it will help you understand a diamond's value and price.

The creation of the Diamond 4Cs meant two very important things: diamond quality could be communicated in a universal language, and diamond customers could now know exactly what they were about to purchase.

No matter how beautiful a diamond may look you simply cannot see its true quality. The 4Cs of diamond quality will provide you with the information you need to know the diamond's actual quality.

GIA Diamond Grading consists of:

1. Colour -> read more
2. Carat -> read more
3. Clarity -> read more
4. Cut -> read more

diamond education - further than the 4 C's

Carat: The weight of the stone, which translates to size.

Diamond Carat refers to a diamond's weight. Generally speaking, the higher the carat weight, the more expensive the stone. Two diamonds of equal carat weight, however, can have very different quality and price when the other three Cs are considered.

Carat Sizes are as follows: 1/2 Carat = 5mm, 1 Carat = 6.6mm, 2 Carat = 8mm, 3 Carat = 9.3mm, 4 Carat = 10.4mm, 5 Carat = 11mm.

Clarity: How clear the stone is

Diamond Clarity measures the amount, size and placement of internal 'inclusions,' and external 'blemishes.' Grades run from 'Flawless,' with virtually no imperfections, to 'Included,' which contain a significant number of imperfections. Most diamonds have different amounts and types of natural inclusions within the stone.

Cut: This refers to the angles and proportions of the stone.

Diamond Cut does not refer to a diamond's shape, but to the proportion and arrangement of its facets and the quality of workmanship. The amount of brilliance, sparkle and fire in a diamond is determined by cut. Grades range from 'Excellent' to 'Poor.'

Further than the Four C’s

Did you know that diamond cutting is now and always has been done by hand? It continues to be a true art form. Each rough diamond crystal is assessed and judged on how to make the most out of it and what shape it will end up being cut, then it is mapped, cut into the basic shape and then each individual facet cut and polished by hand! How a diamond is cut is also known as the “make”. And the difference between two stones that have the same grading, but being cut differently, whether it be symmetry, proportions or polish can make the world of difference in how that stone performs. There will always be one stone that is more desirable than the others…. This is the stone that we are looking for.

Most jewellers focus solely on the Four Cs, simply because it is the basic knowledge most customers gather and understand. The Four Cs are universal diamond trade guidelines that were developed to grade and judge a diamond’s rarity and therefore its price… it does not speak to a stone’s beauty, nor its desirability!

Diamond Cutting Merchant at Work

Beyond the Four C's - Make

Beyond the Colour and Clarity consideration, the “Make” is the appreciation of the overall diamond’s proportions, facets, lustre and scintillation anyone can see. It is essentially the beauty the stone projects and what makes the diamond remarkable and unique.

by appointment

Saturday by appointment only


Copyright © Gavin Fisher Jewellery.
All Rights Reserved.